It was August 18, 1950, and due to recent rains, farm work on his families homestead was on hold with the exception of regular chores. With those done and lunch behind him, Kenneth Childress and his 16 year old cousin, Rancel Duvall Logsdon, were off with a shovel and lantern in hand to do what they enjoyed the most, exploring the Indian artifact rich countryside. On this particular day, they decided to explore Otter Spring – a spring that flowed from the side of a steep hill on the property of Walker Thompson.
On an earlier visit they had noticed not only water coming from the small opening at the bottom of the rock outcropping but just above the spring, cold air rushing out of a tiny opening with a force that caused leaves on trees 15 feet away to rustle! On a hot, humid, August day it was like standing in front of an air conditioner blowing 52 degree air. The bottom portion of the opening was loose gravel and rocks. The two began digging. Soon they had created a hole large enough to crawl about 10 feet into the hillside.
The passage opened to a muddy channel. The two boys crawled another 60 feet and found themselves in a large room. With only the aid of a kerosene lantern, which seemed dim in the vast cavern, they explored about 150 more feet into the cave and were astonished by the never-before-seen, magical formations. They exited full of excitement to tell others what they had discovered.
Word of the discovery spread quickly. The cave and its spectacular sights opened to the public the next year, only to be closed as land disputes ensued brought by land owners of acreage above the cavern. These amazing and remarkable sights of Cub Run Cave where sealed for over half a century – until now!